30836 Schnittke

It’s no secret that I’m hysterically obsessed with the music of Alfred Schnittke.  So you can imagine my excitement when I came across something that links him to another of my passions – astronomy!

Thanks to the JLP Small-Body Database: http://ssd.jpl.nasa.gov/sbdb.cgi?sstr=30836+Schnittke

I already knew that Schnittke transports me to other worlds, but I had no idea that he IS another world!

My imagination immediately constructed a private, residential asteroid not unlike B-612 in Le Petit Prince, except I would care for a violin instead of a rose.  Trust me, my violin is every bit as finicky and vain as that rose.

Here’s a piece I’ve been listening to recently: Adagio from Violin Concerto #4    It’s a perfect welding of the old and the new, the holy and the base, the giddy and the melancholy.  From the outset, the ascending notes of the harpsichord speak of a longing for the transcendent while maintaining a carnal-feeling syncopation.  In the violin solo, I can’t decide whether I am hearing a reverence similar to Bach or an attitude more profane than Le Sacre du Printemps.  

So, anybody know a good extraterrestrial real estate agent?

~ by falleninparadise on July 8, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
